Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

It’s Raining, It’s Pouring, Jen Wishes She Were in Bed Snoring February 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 9:20 am

There are days when I really wish I had a car.  Like this morning when I was supposed to meet a colleague outside the office at 7:30 to take a chapa to Macarungo to visit a school.  And it was pouring rain.  Pouring!  Pounding on the roof, soaking our laundry hanging on the veranda, creating rivers in the road.

 
I would have liked a car today when I couldn’t get ahold of my colleague by phone and imagined he was already on a chapa heading to work, and I didn’t want to be a spoiled foreigner who can’t take a chapa or walk in the rain.  So I put my raincoat on over my backpack, grabbed my compact travel umbrella, which is pretty worthless for keeping anything but my head dry, and off I went.

 
By the time I walked the two blocks to the main road, my denim skirt was already half soaked, and I had waded through several spots on the side road where the water was well past my ankles.  Plus I was the only idiot, apparently, out waiting for a chapa.

 
I stood in that pouring rain watching and feeling my skirt get wetter and wetter, and then feeling is soak through my underwear as well.  Surely I couldn’t meet with a school director in that state anyway.  

 
Chapa
after chapa for Estoril drove by but not one that I needed for Ponta Gea.  After about 20 minutes, wondering how many people would hate me climbing over them on a chapa with my dripping umbrella, jacket, backpack, and clothes, one for Ponta Gea finally did stop.  Fortunately, I didn’t have to climb over too many people, but somehow I managed to sit in the seat beneath the leak in the roof.  “Rain outside and rain inside,” I told the woman beside me.

 
So I finally arrived, dripping, at 8:08 with no colleague in sight.  I saw on my phone that he had tried to call just minutes earlier.  When I called him back he said, “I’m at home.  There’s too much rain.”  Yes, yes, there is.  If I had a car, I’d be at the office dry.  If I had any Mozambican sense, I’d be at home dry.

 

2 Responses to “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring, Jen Wishes She Were in Bed Snoring”

  1. Genie Says:

    Even if you had a car, you’d get wet. 😉 At least, that’s what happens here in Houston in a drenching downpour when you’re trying to get out of your car with your lunch and various bags in tow.

  2. renee Says:

    when in rome . . .


Leave a Reply

