Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Rejected by Immigration…Again February 13, 2008

Filed under: Immigration — Jen @ 8:42 am

Immigration will not accept my criminal background check. They want embassy verification, even though we explained to them that I spoke with the embassy and the embassy is not authorized to verify background checks. They then claimed that other Americans have had the ambassador himself verify background checks. Either those Americans forged signatures or they had personal connections to the ambassador. I can’t even get an American on the phone when I call the embassy! Still other Americans have come from states that Immigration recognizes. They have never had anyone from Texas before. So basically I don’t know what to do. I can’t get my residence visa without a background check, but my background check won’t be accepted without embassy verification, but the embassy doesn’t verify background checks.


My current visa runs out in two weeks and cannot be extended a third time. I thought I would have to make a trip to South Africa at that point and then reenter on a new visa. However, the official we spoke to at Immigration said I could write a letter (yes, another letter) explaining that my background check is being processed and he can give me a conditional visa. In the meantime I really hope I can work something out with the embassy or with Texas Department of Public Safety.

 

4 Responses to “Rejected by Immigration…Again”

  1. Ellen Says:

    That is crazy, convoluted mess. Goodness, that sounds frustrating. What kind of lesson is to be learned from this experience? I’m curious to hear. Hang in there.

  2. Elizabeth Wright Says:

    Sounds really frustrating, but sort of normal – however a trip to South Africa could be good! But I’m sure you’d rather not have that disruption. Geoff has gone to Khartoum today – on his way now – but by 9.30 this morning still had no tickets! I assume he got sorted at Manchester as I haven’t heard he’s on his way home again!

    Elizabeth

  3. Jordan Says:

    The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD;
    he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases. Prov 21:1

    These practical matters can be wonderful moments of spiritual growth and direction. Praying that God would work supernaturally to keep you in Mozambique and re-confirm your call. Praying that he gives you grace. His power is best showcased in our weaknesses! Love you Jen!

  4. Genie Says:

    Craziness, Jen! You aren’t a criminal. Praying for an avenue out of this mess.


Leave a Reply

