Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Turning Old Tomorrow March 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 9:00 pm

Here is an actual conversation I had with a four-year-old at my birthday party this evening. Note: I’m turning 30 tomorrow.

K: Do you have any kids?

Me: No. I’m not married.

K: When are you getting married?

Me: Sometime soon, I hope.

K: Before you get old?

Me: Yep. Before I get old. So does that mean you don’t think I’m old?

K: (Looking at me seriously then rubbing my upper arm with the back of her hand) No, you’re young.

(And later when I told her I’d take some balloons down and send them home with her, her eyes lit up and she said, “That would be lovely!”)

 

7 Responses to “Turning Old Tomorrow”

  1. Margaret Says:

    What a wise three year old! Gram

  2. jhubers Says:

    Oops, my bad – she’s 4 actually.

  3. Jordan Says:

    Happy birthday, Jen! Praying for the Lord’s blessings on you this year.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Happy birthday, Jen!! Hope it was a wonderful one!

  5. Zachy Says:

    So Ren’s cell phone alarm goes off at 12:00 the other night, scares the crap out me, and when I turn over she’s fired up the computer and typing like a fiend. “What are you doing?” I asked and she says she’s talking with you because it’s your birthday. I think I told her to wish you a happy Bday from me – but my mind was rather befuddled. If she didn’t, happy (late) birthday. Hope you’re having fun!

  6. Elizabeth Wright Says:

    Congratulations! Hope you had a happy day. We just celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary – now that’s really old! Got married young though! We’re off to Oman (to celebrate) on Thursday for 3 weeks – going to Khasab for 4 days, then Muscat.

    Love
    Elizabeth and Geoff

  7. Dianna Jonns Says:

    Jenn,

    Is your b’day on the 13th? That’s MY b’day as well! How very cool! I turned 50! Now, that’s old (not really)!

    Happy Belated B’day!

    Love, Dianna


Leave a Reply

