Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Fantastic Limited Time Offer April 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 4:56 pm

My housemate is fantastic.  She has been researching mcel’s (our cell phone provider) various deals on its website.  Last night she told me how I can register three frequently-called friends to receive lower rates for them.  I did but am a bit skeptical.  There seems to be no rhyme or reason to what mcel charges me for calls.  For example, some nights I have talked to a friend for about an hour for about 200 meticais ($8).  Other times, like two nights ago, I have an hour-long conversation for 400 meticais.  (Yes, both conversations were at the same time.  And according to mcel’s website, the cheaper time to call is after 7pm.  I’m usually on the phone around 8 or 9pm.)

Today my housemate and I were walking through town, and she stopped to buy an 80 meticais phone card.  I commented on how I didn’t realize you could buy one for 80.  She said, “Oh yeah, I meant to tell you about this great deal.  If you buy 80 mets of credit, for the following week you get 80 free minutes to one of your three registered friends.  But you have to call between 10pm and 11:20pm, on weekdays.”  You have to understand that I first thought she said I got an additional 80 mets not 80 minutes, and if you see my above explanation of the cost of phone calls, you can understand that that didn’t seem like such a great deal translated into phone time.  You also have to understand that I’m in bed usually by 10pm.  So then it really didn’t seem like such a great deal.  However, once I understood that it was 80 minutes, it started sounding better.

Then she said, “But actually, I might be forgetting some of the restrictions.”  Can there be more restrictions?  “And I wouldn’t want you staying up to talk for 80 minutes and find that you’re paying for it.”  Me neither.

 

2 Responses to “Fantastic Limited Time Offer”

  1. Jordan Says:

    Just out of curiosity, do you have Skype? You can make international callsfrom your computer for about 2 cents a minute. I think we may have talked about this before, but I can’t remember. I’m so thankful for Skype because I can call home regularly.

  2. jhubers Says:

    Yeah, I’ve got skype, but these prices are actually for calls within Mozambique, to another phone in my network!


Leave a Reply

