Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

I Am Constipated June 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 9:46 pm

Estou constipada.  I find it funny when others tell me this, and today I was a little embarrassed to admit it, even though I know it doesn’t mean what it sounds like it means.  It actually means “I am congested.”  Or in other words:  I have a constipated nose!

I’ve been priding myself on avoiding sickness since I’ve been here.  This nasty, neverending cold has been going around for awhile now.  “Change in temperature” is how everyone explains it.  Of course it would be the week before I’m supposed to travel that my nose becomes constipated.  And I’m coughing, and I have a fever.

And the office got broken into yesterday.  This is what I missed while I was home sick.  Five laptops (four insured and one new one not insured) and the safe were stolen.  What amazes me is that they took the safe which two grown men can’t carry between them but left the desktop computers.  It also looks very likely that it was an inside job because they knew where to find the keys to the office with the safe.  Also the police are not helping us because we won’t pay a bribe.  Sometimes this place makes me sick (yeah, obviously it literally does), but that’s why we’re here, right?

Oh, and I’ve just been chasing a rat around my apartment with a mop.  Not fun with a fever.

 

3 Responses to “I Am Constipated”

  1. renee Says:

    sounds miserable. but you are a light in the darkness. try to stay positive.

  2. Lynne Hubers Says:

    Been there, done that–the rat chase, I mean! But NOT fun when you’re sick. Renee is right. You ARE a beacon of light. Hang in there.

    Mom

  3. chris seay Says:

    i will pray…I am so sorry.

    much love from houston,

    Chris Seay


Leave a Reply

