Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Thanksgiving Day 2 November 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 5:41 pm

I am thankful for cheap, fresh seasonal fruit. A few days ago I bought half a dozen mangoes for less than $1. The market is so colorful these days with all the different types of mangoes now in season. I avoid the little yellow ones because they’re so fibrous, and I have to floss immediately after eating them. But the skinny red/green ones are good, and the big, fat, round ones are starting to come into season as well. Bananas are plentiful year-round, but they are especially good now paired with mangoes in a fruit salad, smoothie or frozen yogurt.

Lychees are also in season. It was a surprise to me last year when I arrived to see them, as I’ve only ever associated them with Asia. I had no idea they were grown here. They’re SO sweet and SO juicy! Absolutely perfect in the hot summer weather.

Papayas are also in season, although I don’t like them as much as the other fruit. Pineapples should be in season soon. I’ve seen some tiny ones starting to be sold in the market.

It’s very sad when mangoes and pineapples go out of season, but then we have mandarin and avocado season to look forward to! Then I can buy avocados the size of an infant’s head for 20 cents a piece.

Hooray for mangoes, bananas, pineapples, lychees, mandarins, avocados, and even papayas!

Papayas, avocadoes, mandarins, and bananas

Papayas, avocados, mandarins, and bananas

Buying fresh pineapple off the street

Buying fresh pineapple off the street

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving Day 2”

  1. Rachel Says:

    The “automatically generated” posts for this one are quite hilarious.

    I LOVE fresh fruit, too. Especially the fruit that is picked a few (days/hours/minutes) before being sold – versus the (days/months) that separates its picking from its selling date here in the U.S. In SE Asia you can buy amazing fruit too.

    I want to come visit you sometime! Someday…when we’re rich and famous.


Leave a Reply

