Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Peace Part 1 December 10, 2008

Filed under: Faith,Pictures — Jen @ 7:57 am

I went swimming on Monday night. I haven’t been in awhile, but I had been working on a difficult report and needed to get out of the house and move my body a little.

Back and forth across the pool, my mind unable to hold a steady thought, “peace like a river” popped in and out. Why like a river?

At the end of my last lap, I leaned against the edge of the pool, removed my googles and saw a rainbow. The sky was dark, and the wide band of faint colors shot straight up from the ground into the clouds.

When I emerged from the pool, I noticed the other side of the sky – orange and pink clouds, glowing brighter and brighter as the sun sank into the sea. I wrapped my towel around me and turned a deck chair around to watch the east and west skies. Rainbow…sunset…rainbow…sunset… Neither of them was possible without the right combination of sun and cloud. Peace like a rainbow. Peace like a sunset.

The beauty of the sunset grew, and colors melded and brightened then lightened then faded. Clouds and movement created the beauty and peace.

Movement. Still air is not peaceful. A breeze is. Sitting on a porch swing is more peaceful than sitting on a wooden bench. Rocking back and forth is peaceful. The rise and fall of a sleeping baby’s chest is peaceful. A still pond is not peaceful. A gurgling stream is.

On the other hand, too much movement is turmoil. Gale force wind, someone pushing the porch swing too hard, a tantruming baby, white-water rapids.

“Peace like a river”? I sense it now – clean, rippling, with smooth pebbles lining the bottom, coolly splashing around my ankles. Massaging, soothing, refreshing. It streams from a deep source and flows into the vast ocean. “Love like an ocean…”

peace-sunset

peace-river

 

2 Responses to “Peace Part 1”

  1. Lynne Hubers Says:

    Beautiful pics and thought pictures. Thanks, Jennifer!

    Mom

  2. Ellen Says:

    this is one of my favorite posts ever… thanks for making me think that peace is not always still, but moving, not too fast, not too slow, but being carried along with purpose. Love you


Leave a Reply

