Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #19 May 19, 2010

Filed under: Pictures,Uncategorized — Jen @ 3:23 am

In January 2007 I had an interview at Oasis for my job in Mozambique.  I took the train up for the meeting but then spent the rest of the day wandering around.  It’s one of those things that I normally enjoy doing on my own but felt a bit odd that day with the events of Christmas break still fresh, the reality that I had indeed made the decision to pursue Africa instead of return to Houston to settle down, and the brand new possibility of going to a country I knew nothing about.  Plus it was a gloomy day.  But I did what I normally enjoy doing in London:  wandering a new market, walking along the river, sight-seeing, and people-watching.

This photo is unfortunately not very well-taken, but it’s my favorite because of the couple in it.  They were walking along very slowly holding hands, doing their shopping, oblivious of the crowds.  I was sitting on a curb eating something, watching everyone rush around, mostly young people.  Then I noticed this couple, and they were just so sweet, the wife taking care of her husband.  I wanted to know their story.  I simultaneously felt really happy and really sad.  Really happy to know that couples like that do exist, even in the hustle and bustle of a major city.  And I wanted whatever they had.  That’s also the part that made me kind of sad.  Also sad to know that what they had probably wouldn’t last very much longer.

 

Leave a Reply

