Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Oh My Goodness! May 21, 2010

Filed under: Teaching,Uncategorized — Jen @ 4:57 am

After school today my partner teacher asked me if I say, “Oh my goodness,” a lot.  She was grading stories her kids had written about if a dinosaur came to visit the school.  She teaches a bilingual class, so all the writing was in Spanish.  One of her kids wrote:  ‘If a dinosaur came to school, Ms. Hubers would scream, “Oh my goodness, Dios mio!” and faint.’  It was all in Spanish, except for the “oh my goodness” part.  I was also drawn with a big flower in my hair.

I do, in fact, say, “Oh my goodness”, a lot!

 

2 Responses to “Oh My Goodness!”

  1. Lynne Hubers Says:

    Yes, you do–and I love it 🙂 It is uniquely you because I don’t know anyone else who says it with as much gusto!

    Mom

  2. Jen Says:

    It’s just such a useful phrase. I use when I’m disapproving/angry: “Oh. My. Goodness,” with very stern look. I use it when I’m exasperated, coming out like a frustrated sigh. I do that so much with on particular student that he has taken to beating me to it when he knows he’s done something that will exasperate me. It’s also a great excited expression: “Oh my goodness, you guys! Guess what?!” And it’s a great simple “wow” as well: “Oh my goodness, really?” See, so many great uses! 😉


Leave a Reply

