Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #37 October 13, 2010

Filed under: Pictures — Jen @ 3:43 am

No, this is not my favorite photo.  But look at the size of that bruise!!  What the heck is THAT from???  I have no recollection of how it happened, but I do remember that I had it and that I wished I had taken this picture a few days earlier when it was really dark.  By the time the picture was taken, it had faded a bit.  I wonder if I had a bike accident.  What else would it be from?

Okay, so here’s the real picture from the London to Brighton Bike Ride (40 miles over the South Downs).   (BTW the picture above was not taken after the ride, so I know I didn’t have an accident on the ride.)  I rode with my friend N., who is a far more athletic person than I and has far more bike experience than I do, except she’s mostly a mountain biker.  (She also commutes daily through central London, which impresses me no end.)  I merely owned a mountain bike but mostly used it to commute to campus.  The great thing about my commute, though, was that it trained me for the L2B because I lived at the top of a very steep hill.  Climbing that hill on a regular basis meant the hills on the actual ride weren’t that bad.  I must say that the most satisfying thing about the ride was passing guys on their fancy roadbikes going up the hills.  “Yeah, that’s right, this is a $90 very used mountain bike with knobby tires!  See you at the top.”

I also loved riding with N.  There is always much laughter when she’s around.

 

Leave a Reply

