Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

O Come, O Come Emmanuel December 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 11:33 pm

My eyes went back and forth between the Mac screen and the window just to the left trying to reconcile the simultaneous realities.  Stray snowflakes added more white to the scene out the window, but on the screen I watched a fan rotate.  Skype still amazes me.  That I can sit in Minneapolis at 1:00 in the afternoon and see and hear my friend in a hot and humid Mozambique at 9:00 at night.

The last time I saw Dara was in Mozambique in July when I went to stay with her and her daughter for a couple days.  Only it’s not her daughter yet.  Nede is an adorable five-year-old Mozambican whom Dara fell in love with when she worked in Mozambique a couple years ago.  This past March she returned to Moz to attempt to adopt Nede.  To date she has made little progress.  Which is nothing short of very, very hard.  Dara is there by herself.  She loves this little girl, but there is no guarantee how long the adoption process will take.  Two years?  Five years?  Ten years?  When it comes to Mozambique, there is no way to know.

I’ve never wanted so badly to reach through a computer screen to hug someone.  Especially at this time of year.  As I get older, I become more and more aware of how lonely this time of year is for so many people.  I always want to fast-forward through December to January on that fact alone.  Please take a minute to read Dara’s blog, pray for her, pray for the adoption process:  www.thereforego.blogspot.com.  Then think of others in your life who might be feeling isolated today, this week, on Saturday.  Call them.  Love them.  Let them know they are part of a larger body.  If you can hug them, do it.

 

Leave a Reply

