Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #54 May 22, 2011

Filed under: Pictures — Jen @ 6:29 pm

On my way through the Midwest in the Fall of 2007, I spent some time with my brother in Detroit since I thought it would be the last time it would be just him and me before he got married.  We had a couple sister-brother outings and, as we do, took lots of pictures of whatever was around us.  I had never been to Belle Isle before, and he took me out there to explore an old yacht club.  As with so much of Detroit, the beauty and character is in the neglect.  The forgotten, disintegrating buildings allow you to creatively imagine what it once was, what it could some day be.  Detroit is truly a gritty city.  (Stay tuned:  I will explore this topic further in the coming months.)

 

Leave a Reply

