Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

The End, part 1 June 2, 2011

Filed under: Teaching — Jen @ 1:23 am

When this week finally came, it came too fast.  Tomorrow is my last day – for the foreseeable future – as a fourth grade teacher.  We had our class parties today.  During our party the technology teacher came by to drop off a gift my students had made for me.  It was a book filled with poems that they had written.  They really wanted me to read them out loud, which I did.  It was one of the few moments in that group where everyone was genuinely proud and happy and no one made fun of anyone’s written words.  I was really touched by what has stuck out to them about me.  Here are a few of my favorites:

 

Nice, smart, grateful, sensitive

Teacher of J.W.

Who loves me

Who feels good when I get positive reports

Who said, “Good job.”

Who will like to see me going to 5th grade

Who teaches at S. Elementary

 

 

She is nice, pretty, helpful, intelligent

Teacher of S.S.

Who loves 555

Who feels happy all the time

Who said, “Good job.”

Who gives best hugs

Who wishes the best

Who would like to see the inside of me

Who teaches at S. Elementary

 

 

Nice, pretty, sweet, loving

Teacher of A.C.

Who loves the whole class

Who feels proud

Who said study about Honduras

Who gives help

Who wishes to be nice

Who would like to see good behavior

Who teaches at S. Elementary

 

 

3 Responses to “The End, part 1”

  1. Dianna Says:

    Ahhh. At least you know that, as hard as it was, you made a difference in these kids lives. This will never leave their hearts and you never know how much that will make them want to find it again! Very encouraging for me, too!

  2. robyn Says:

    I love “who would like to see good behavior” Awesome…glad that they knew that, just didn’t perform for you 🙂 Please lets talk soon! I miss you!!!!

  3. jhubers Says:

    You continue to make a real difference in these kids lives, as hard as it has been. Well done!! I’m just wondering when Part II is coming 🙂


Leave a Reply

