Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #58 June 12, 2011

Filed under: Pictures — Jen @ 10:31 pm

I have prettier photos than this in this album, but this is my favorite one.  I was with my parents in Chicago for Thanksgiving 2007 then left for Mozambique a couple days later.  As you can see, I was packing my suitcase, and Frodo seemed very interested in coming with me.  In fact, he did not leave from that spot while I filled the suitcase.  The next picture I have is of the closed suitcase and him sitting on top.

 

Frodo was my cat.  I insisted on getting a kitten the summer of 1997 when I transferred from my college in Oregon to U of M.  We had always been a cat family, but when I went away to college my brother convinced my parents to get a dog.  I was not pleased.  My parents gave in to my insistence on a cat after I explained that it would be mine, and I would take it from their house once I was out of the dorms and in a place of my own.  So they’d only have to keep it for one year.

 

Frodo never did live with me.  Either I was in apartments that didn’t allow pets or had roommates who were allergic or I lived in foreign countries.

 

Fourteen years later Frodo no longer lives with my parents.  A few weeks ago, after a couple years of declining kitty health, my parents finally put him down.  Among other problems, he was deaf and had withered down to skin and bones.  This photo shows him in much happier days.  I wish I could have taken him in the suitcase with me, but I’m not sure how well he would have liked Mozambique.  Plus, I think Mom and Dad and the dog would really have missed him.

 

 

One Response to “Photo #58”

  1. Mom Says:

    You’re right, Jennifer; I would have missed Frodo then and I miss him and Molly terribly now.


Leave a Reply

