Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #66 October 7, 2011

Filed under: Pictures — Jen @ 8:33 pm

Typical downtown Beira:  brightly colored Mcel, Nido, and Milo ads painted on a wall.  Yet the apartment block is unpainted and likely doesn’t have any electricity or running water.  Someone once told me that you have to buy a special permit in Beira in order to paint a house, so no one does because they can’t afford the permits.  Therefore, most of the buildings look like this.  I don’t know how true that is.  I would imagine most people don’t want to purchase the paint either.  I’d probably want electricity more than I would want a pretty exterior.

 

This was my first trip to Maquinino, a neighborhood just beyond central Beira, where there are several shops on one block that sell capulanas (colorful, patterned cloth wraps).  Much later I learned that cheaper and more brightly colored capulanas are sold in the market behind our old office, from little stalls instead of in shops.

 

Leave a Reply

