Bird on a Bare Branch

Attempting to fling a frail song in my little corner of the world

Photo #69 October 12, 2011

Filed under: Pictures,Teaching — Jen @ 10:40 pm

One of my favorite parts of my job in Mozambique was being able to visit schools.  Sadly, it didn’t happen as often as I would have liked, or as often as I should have pushed for it to happen, but I did get a chance to observe my colleagues teaching Moral Education.  On this day, Arsenio had just passed out the new curriculum that Oasis had produced.  The kids were so into the little photocopied books!  I think in Mozambique it’s just such a treat to have your very own book.  Even in schools, they do not necessarily have access to books.

 

This was a nicer school with a somewhat small class.  There were probably about 40 students in this class.  I’ve sat in classrooms holding 80+ students.  It was also a treat to watch Arsenio teach because he genuinely cares for the students, and they respond well to him.

 

2 Responses to “Photo #69”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I have fond memories of putting together those leaflets!! 🙂 xx

    • Jen Says:

      Oh my gosh, I almost got started on the labor of those booklets but decided I wanted to focus on the positives. I have another photo somewhere of a huge stack of them, plus all the piles of papers on the table. I’m sure the guys are just sitting around in that photo!


Leave a Reply

